Tag Archives: Power Blog

Award-Winning Author Kelley Power announced as final ‘Chillers from the Rock’ author!

DJZ3NuwW4AAJaFY.jpg largeEngen Books is proud to announce the last author to be selected for the 2018 Chillers from the Rock collection as non other than award-winning author Kelley Power!

A native Newfoundlander, Power’s work has won the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts and Letters competition (Digital Multi-media) and the 48-Hour Novel Writing Marathon (Engen Books). She is currently working on the manuscript of her first novel, for which she recently received a project grant from ArtsNL. She currently serves the betterment of Newfoundland culture as the vice president of the Writer’s Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador.

In February 2018, Power was nominated for a YWCA St. John’s Women of Distinction Award.

In early 2018 her short story “F*%$ Jesus” is set to appear in What’s Written in the Ladies, an anthology collection edited by Bridget Canning.

Power is a member of the Naked Parade Writing Collective; and likes to recharge her creative batteries taking pictures of rocks, collecting rocks, and making my dog hang out with her while she does it.

Power has two short stories, “Sifting” and “Treatment” set to appear in Chillers from the Rock.

Chillers from the Rock launches March 28 and includes the work of Kelly Power, Dale Jarvis, Teresita E. Dziadura, Paul Carberry, Anastacia Hopkins, Jon Dobbin, Bronwynn Erskine, Peter Foote, Chelsea Bee, Sam Bauer, Ali House, Shannon Green, Michelle Churchill, Jeff Slade, Chantal Boudreau, Matthew Daniels, Maggie Carroll, Lynn Reicker, Eryn Heidel & Matthew LeDrew! Stay tuned for more details!

For exclusive content and FREE books, be sure and check out the Engen Books Patreon.

WINNER(s) of the 48 Hour Writing Marathon: Kelley Power & Jon Dobbin!

DJZ3NuwW4AAJaFY.jpg largeThe 48-Hour Writing Marathon, which happened from June 23-25 2017 at the T.H.E. Tutoring Center, was a well-fought competition between peers to see who could get the closest to writing a full novel in 48 Hours of near non-stop authorship! It was difficult: there was little sleep, much junk food, any many distractions. f over twenty participants, only six went on to enter their work to be judged by a panel of three judges in a double-blind process to be crowned the first 48-Hour Writing Marathon Winner!

Via an alternate-vote process, the top two authors were so close in their scores (with a difference of only one point!) that we decided to make them both eligible for the prize! The first place winner was currently-serving WANL Secretary Kelley Power, whose submission (currently titled Milestones) blew the judges away with its intricate character dynamics and atmosphere. The runner-up, Jon Dobbin, penned an amazing (and yet Untitled) epic Western, giving the genre much-needed attention and an update for modern storytellers. We can’t wait to see what both do with their amazing starts! Continue reading WINNER(s) of the 48 Hour Writing Marathon: Kelley Power & Jon Dobbin!